Remember these?

I grew up in NYC.

During the early 1980’s I worked and went to college.

My commute home to Ridgewood often meant walking a long underground tunnel between 7th Ave (the 1,2,3 IRT Line) and 6th Ave (the LL..now L…BMT Line).

Seeing Keith Haring’s chalk drawings in that tunnel made me smile, grin, and giggle. I loved them. I think lots of people loved them. People, other taggers, left them alone. The drawings lasted until the subway workers put up posters or new black paper.

This post resultd from remembering the way no one believed my stories of seeing black and white Keith Haring art in that tunnel. Really people!

Here’s Keith’s own words:

“One day, riding the subway, I saw this empty black panel where an advertisement was supposed to go. I immediately realized that this was the perfect place to draw. I went back above ground to a card shop and bought a box of white chalk, went back down and did a drawing on it. It was perfect–soft black paper; chalk drew on it really easily.”

So I forgive the naysayers.

Keith Haring Art in the Subway in Black & White

 

Leave a Reply

